Commenced in January 2007
Frequency: Monthly
Edition: International
Paper Count: 31515
Synthesis of TiO2 Nanoparticles by Sol-Gel and Sonochemical Combination

Authors: Sabriye Piskin, Sibel Kasap, Muge Sari Yilmaz


Nanocrystalline TiO2 particles were successfully synthesized via sol-gel and sonochemical combination using titanium tetraisopropoxide as a precursor at lower temperature for a short time. The effect of the reaction parameters (hydrolysis media, acid media, and reaction temperatures) on the synthesis of TiO2 particles were investigated in the present study. Characterizations of synthesized samples were prepared by X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis. It was shown that the reaction parameters played a significant role in the synthesis of TiO2 particles.

Keywords: Crystalline TiO2, sonochemical mechanism, sol-gel reaction.

Digital Object Identifier (DOI):

Procedia APA BibTeX Chicago EndNote Harvard JSON MLA RIS XML ISO 690 PDF Downloads 1690


[1] M.R. Hoffman, S.T. Martin, W.Y. Choi, D.W. Bahnemann, “Environmental applications of photocatalysis”, Chem. Rev., vol. 95, pp. 69-96, 1995.
[2] W. Ho, J. Yu, J. Lin, P. Li, “Prepration and photocatalyic behaviour of MoS2 and WS2 nanocluster sensitized TiO2”, Langmuir, vol. 20, pp. 5865-5869, 2004.
[3] J. Ge, J. Qu, “Ultrasonic irradiation enhanced degradation of azo dye on MnO2”, Appl. Catal. B: Environ., vol. 47, pp.133–140, 2003.
[4] S. K. Kavitha, P. N. Palanisamy “Photocatalytic and Sonophotocatalytic Degradation of Reactive Red 120 using Dye Sensitized TiO2 under Visible Light”, International Science Index International Journal of Chemical, Molecular, Nuclear, Materials and Metallurgical Engineering, vol.5, no: 1, pp. 1-6, 2011.
[5] T. J. Mason, “Sonochemistry: The use of ultrasound in chemistry”, The Royal Society of Chemistry, Cambridge, 1990.
[6] S. Kasap, H.Tel, S. Piskin “Preparation of TiO2 nanoparticles by sonochemical method, isotherm, thermodynamic and kinetic studies on the sorption of strontium”, J. Radioanal. Nucl. Ch. vol. 289, pp. 489-495, 2012.