@article{(Open Science Index):https://publications.waset.org/pdf/8246,
	  title     = {A Robust Reception of IEEE 802.15.4a IR-TH UWB in Dense Multipath and Gaussian Noise},
	  author    = {Farah Haroon and  Haroon Rasheed and  Kazi M Ahmed},
	  country	= {},
	  institution	= {},
	  abstract     = {IEEE 802.15.4a impulse radio-time hopping ultra wide
band (IR-TH UWB) physical layer, due to small duty cycle and very
short pulse widths is robust against multipath propagation. However,
scattering and reflections with the large number of obstacles in indoor
channel environments, give rise to dense multipath fading. It imposes
serious problem to optimum Rake receiver architectures, for which
very large number of fingers are needed. Presence of strong noise
also affects the reception of fine pulses having extremely low power
spectral density. A robust SRake receiver for IEEE 802.15.4a IRTH
UWB in dense multipath and additive white Gaussian noise
(AWGN) is proposed to efficiently recover the weak signals with
much reduced complexity. It adaptively increases the signal to noise
(SNR) by decreasing noise through a recursive least square (RLS)
algorithm. For simulation, dense multipath environment of IEEE
802.15.4a industrial non line of sight (NLOS) is employed. The power
delay profile (PDF) and the cumulative distribution function (CDF)
for the respective channel environment are found. Moreover, the error
performance of the proposed architecture is evaluated in comparison
with conventional SRake and AWGN correlation receivers. The
simulation results indicate a substantial performance improvement
with very less number of Rake fingers.},
	    journal   = {International Journal of Electronics and Communication Engineering},
	  volume    = {4},
	  number    = {4},
	  year      = {2010},
	  pages     = {755 - 760},
	  ee        = {https://publications.waset.org/pdf/8246},
	  url   	= {https://publications.waset.org/vol/40},
	  bibsource = {https://publications.waset.org/},
	  issn  	= {eISSN: 1307-6892},
	  publisher = {World Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology},
	  index 	= {Open Science Index 40, 2010},