@article{(Open Science Index):https://publications.waset.org/pdf/3029,
	  title     = {The Characteristics of the Factors that Govern the Preferred Force in the Social Force Model of Pedestrian Movement},
	  author    = {Zarita Zainuddin and  Mohammed Mahmod Shuaib and  Ibtesam M. Abu-Sulyman},
	  country	= {},
	  institution	= {},
	  abstract     = {The social force model which belongs to the
microscopic pedestrian studies has been considered as the supremacy
by many researchers and due to the main feature of reproducing the
self-organized phenomena resulted from pedestrian dynamic. The
Preferred Force which is a measurement of pedestrian-s motivation to
adapt his actual velocity to his desired velocity is an essential term on
which the model was set up. This Force has gone through stages of
development: first of all, Helbing and Molnar (1995) have modeled
the original force for the normal situation. Second, Helbing and his
co-workers (2000) have incorporated the panic situation into this
force by incorporating the panic parameter to account for the panic
situations. Third, Lakoba and Kaup (2005) have provided the
pedestrians some kind of intelligence by incorporating aspects of the
decision-making capability. In this paper, the authors analyze the
most important incorporations into the model regarding the preferred
force. They make comparisons between the different factors of these
incorporations. Furthermore, to enhance the decision-making ability
of the pedestrians, they introduce additional features such as the
familiarity factor to the preferred force to let it appear more
representative of what actually happens in reality.},
	    journal   = {International Journal of Mathematical and Computational Sciences},
	  volume    = {4},
	  number    = {2},
	  year      = {2010},
	  pages     = {316 - 320},
	  ee        = {https://publications.waset.org/pdf/3029},
	  url   	= {https://publications.waset.org/vol/38},
	  bibsource = {https://publications.waset.org/},
	  issn  	= {eISSN: 1307-6892},
	  publisher = {World Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology},
	  index 	= {Open Science Index 38, 2010},